My 2013.

Image

Another year just flew by. Like every year, this year too had its fair share of ups and downs. I think this was one of those years where I learned a lot about life. I got to know more about friendship, time, distance, family, love, hatred and perhaps even myself.

The year started off pretty normally. At that point, I was just waiting for my board exams to get over because it felt like this sword dangling above my head. Not that I was under pressure. I was just afraid of letting people down, because I did that quite a few times already. March was the month of the exams, and that went off very quickly. Also, towards the end of March, I met one person who means a LOT to me. I got my results in June, and I did do quite well, so the people I care about weren’t let down for once.

Half the year passed by, and then it was time to step into a new world : college. I had several doubts within me. I chose a course which wasn’t what one would call mainstream. Also, I don’t cope well with change, and after being in a school for 12 years, this was truly a big step for me. However, I realized I did the right thing choosing what I wanted. When you choose what you really want, everything else just has a way of falling into place. I have made some great friends in college. Although my course hasn’t lived up to my expectations, I do have fun. So, yes, things seemed fine. The rest of the months were pretty much the same, with the usual drama here and there. Soon enough, it was October and I officially became an adult. I didn’t feel any different though, but it just gave me a new outlook to life. If I compare the person I was, and the person I am, I must say I have changed. But then again, as time passes, everybody changes. It just depends on whether you change for the good or the bad, and in my case, it’s the former. As mentioned in my earlier posts, I had a great birthday this year. November passed off uneventfully, and it was finally time for December : my favourite time of the year.

Everything about December enchants me. But, this year, December turned out to be the worst month for me as I found out that the person I love the most is suffering from cancer, and that chances of survival are one in a million. Initially, the news broke me. I never hit this kind of a low ever. I still cannot come to terms with it. It is very hard for me to deal with it because none of us are good with losing people we love. Although I must say I’m lucky enough to have a good support system with me. Like the optimist I am, I did find a few positives from this as well. And moreover, life does not wait for anyone, it goes on. My hope is still intact, because I believe in miracles.

So, I don’t particularly have any new year resolutions. My whole outlook on life has sort of changed after this incident. At the end of the day, all we need is people who genuinely care about us. This new year, I do not have much expectations, because one thing I learned is that we cannot control or speculate about the future. Whatever has to happen, will happen. In the meanwhile, all we can do is live more, and when I say live more, I do not mean anything crazy or wild. Just get rid of all the negativity – anger, hatred, jealousy – and replace them with positivity. Only then will we be able to truly live more, in the truest sense of the term.

Happy New Year 2014 🙂 

Leave a Reply

